Skip to main content

Navigation

Quicklinks


Clubs and Organizations

Are you looking for an organization to join? Let’s get you involved! Clubs and organizations at Isothermal Community College cultivate awareness and interest in many areas such as culture, student writing, professions, and several special interests. If you have an idea for a new organization, visit the Student Activities Office in the Student Center Lobby to make your idea a reality.

Student Government Association (SGA)

The Student Government Association (SGA) is a long-standing organization with Isothermal Community College that seeks to serve as the voice for Isothermal Students and channels communication between clubs, organizations, and College personnel. Students actively involved in the SGA learn leadership development skills, sharpen problem-solving and critical thinking, and contribute to creative endeavors.

Advisor: Laura Horbal Email: lhorbal@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-4196 Office: Student Center 19

Learn more about how to get involved

Achieving Connection Through Service (ACTS)

ACTS provides opportunities for leadership through community service, professional growth, and fostering a climate of acceptance of all students.

Advisor: Joel Ekstrom Email: jekstrom@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1635 Office: Student Center 18C

Anuran*

The Anuran is the College's annual literary journal. It is designed as a published collection of poems and essays, the culmination of a yearly poetry and essay contest drawing on the talents of Isothermal and the surrounding communities.

Advisor: Erin Balmer Email: ebalmer@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1617 Office: Administration 201F

Advisor: Matthew Humphries Email: mhumphries@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1620 Office: Administration 201H

Book Club

The Book Club promotes literacy, critical thinking, culture and community for students and employees. Members are encouraged to engage in mature, thought- provoking conversations in a multi- disciplinary fashion.

Advisor: Jeremy Burris Email: jburris@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1467 Office: Administration 210B

Bluegrass Music Club

The Isothermal Bluegrass Club allows musicians to practice and perform with other musicians in a style that is historically rooted in the local area. Participants network with fellow musicians to hone their skills, abilities, and experience as artists and performers.

Advisor: Dana Anderson Email: danderson@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1523 Office: Business Sciences 104

Cinematic Society of Isothermal (CSI) *

The Cinematic Society of Isothermal seeks to promote filmmaking as a visual and sonic art form.

Students will explore elements of film, from pre- and post- production. CSI provides a nourishing and inclusive environment to create and enjoy their own films.

Advisor: Carolyn Young Email: cyoung@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1537 Office: Communications 146 

Dental Assisting Club *

The Dental Assisting Club provides students an opportunity to engage in school and community-wide dental healthcare, education and involvement.

Advisor: Stacey Jenkins Email: sjenkins@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-4440 Office: Polk Campus

Computer Design and Photography Club

The Computer Design and Photography Club provides space and time to foster computer design and photography as art, hobbies, and vocation. Members hone their skills, engage in community projects, and engage in social activities that create cohesion and networking.

Advisor: Zachary Freeman Email: zfreeman@isothermal.edu Phone: 828-395-1534 Office: Communications Building

Cosmetology Club

The Cosmetology Club provides activities relevant to the changing fashion industry and provides outstanding artistry experiences from all aspects of the field of cosmetology. Information about career opportunities is provided for those interested in entering the field.

Advisor: Connie Toney Email: ctoney@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1439 Office: Cosmetology Lab

Criminal Justice Club

The Criminal Justice Club provides students with an enriching opportunity to network with other students and professionals who share a passion for the field of criminal justice.

Advisor: Thomas Tarker Email: ttarker@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1448 Office: Applied Sciences 1H

Foothills Nursing Consortium Student Nurses' Association*

The Foothills Nursing Consortium provides programs representative of fundamental and current professional interests and concerns and to aid in the development of the whole person, their professional role, and their responsibility for the health care of people from all walks of life.

Advisor: Marian Price Email: mprice@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1769 Office: Rutherford Learning Center

Gaming and Robotics Club

The Isothermal Gaming and Robotics Club allows those interested in modern technological advancements in the rapidly evolving game and robotics industries to network, share, and participate in activities indicative to the nature of the industry. Members share ideas, network with others who have a shared interest, and experience, assess, and evaluate innovative and evolving trends and technologies.

Advisor: Dana Anderson Email: danderson@isothermal.edu Phone: 828-395-1523 Office: Business Sciences 104 

Gender Sexuality Alliance (GSA)*

The Gender Sexuality Alliance provides a safe space for LGBTQIA+ students, advocates, and allies to discuss current topics, obtain access to resources, educate campus and community, provide an enriched sense of community, and engage in educational, cultural, and social programming.

Advisor: Erin Balmer Email: ebalmer@isothermal.edu Phone: 828-395-1617 Office: Administration 201F

Advisor: Sandra Lackner Email: slackner@isothermal.edu Phone: 828-395-1429 Office: Student Center, Student Services Suite

Intramural Sports

The Intramural Sports program gives all students an opportunity to engage in various programs of physical activity, such as basketball, softball, tennis, golf, badminton, volleyball and swimming.

Advisor: Kenneth Hines Email: khines@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-4232 Office: Student Center Lobby/Gym

National Technical Honor Society (NTHS)*

The National Technical Honor Society recognizes achievement in career and technical education.

Advisor: Tiffany Cooper Email: tcooper@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1638 Office: Business Sciences 110

Advisor: Sarah Kilgo Email: skilgo@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1526 Office: Business Sciences 123

Peer 2 Peer 2 (P2P2) *

Peer 2 Peer 2 assists college students by helping them to discover their life ambition. P2P2 provides the supports and tools that students need to achieve their academic and career goals, in order to build leaders who make a better world. The P2P2 also supports the efforts of the Peer Mentoring Program (P2P).

Advisor: Loreen Smith lsmith@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1461 Office: Administration 201D

Phi Beta Lambda Business Society*

Phi Beta Lambda is a non-profit educational association and membership is open to any student enrolled in a business or business-related field.

Advisor: Rebecca Haney Email: rhaney@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1305 Office: Business Sciences 103

Advisor: Katlin Mitchell Email: kmitchell@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1423 Office: Business Sciences

Patriot Debate Team

The Patriot Debate Team provides a platform for developing and practicing the principles of organized and intellectual speaking.

Advisor: Andrew Bradshaw Email: abradshaw@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1646 Office: LLC REaCH Suite

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society for junior colleges recognizes students of top academic standing.

Advisor: Erin Balmer Email: ebalmer@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1617 Office: Administration 201F

RPM/Machining Club

The RPM/Machining Club encourages members to learn new techniques and practice their skills while encouraging each other in a safe environment.

Advisor: Jeff Waters Email: jwaters@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1409 Office: Machining Technology

Student Practical Nurses' Club*

The Student Practical Nurses' Club promotes a professional and social atmosphere for students in the LPN program and also to enhance character and professionalism in men and women.

Advisor: Carole Koehler Email: ckoehler@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1647 Office: Rutherford Learning Center

The Leadership Academy (ICC-GWU Partnership)

The Leadership Academy is devoted to developing and enhancing leadership skills through training and exposure from top business leaders, behind-the-scenes tours with executives in several industries and enterprise sectors, and exercises and activities to strengthen the leader within each student.

Advisor: Mark Franklin Email: mfranklin@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1677 Office: The Foundation

Join the Leadership Academy

Twin Phoenix Taekwondo

Twin Phoenix provides a safe environment for students to practice and improve their taekwondo skills.

 Advisor: Mike Lipkin Email: mlipkin@isothermal.edu Phone: 828-395-1742 Office: Administration 132

The National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS)

The National Society of Leadership and Success is the largest national leadership organization of its kind. Isothermal Community College’s chapter helps students achieve personal growth, career success, and empowers members to have a positive impact in their communities.

Advisor: Sarah Morse Email: smorse@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1763 Office: The Foundation

Uncommon Leaders Club*

The Uncommon Leaders Club empowers, supports, and emboldens men of color to establish strong foundations for success as they work toward achieving their academic, personal, and professional goals by building upon achievements, utilizing campus/community resources, and expanding encouraging relationships.

Advisor: Kenneth Hines Email: khines@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395- 4232 Office: Student Center Lobby/Gym

Advisor: Sandra Lackner Email: slackner@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1429 Office: Student Center, Student Services Suite

Welding Club

The Welding Club encourages members to learn new techniques and practice their skills while encouraging one another in a safe environment.

Advisor: Nathan Fisher Email: nfisher@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1515 Office: Welding Shop

 

 

* Denotes chartered club status, which indicates eligibility to receive funding from the Student Government Association.

Note: Some clubs may provide alternative options for engagement, such as remote or hybrid meetings during COVID-impacted semesters. All clubs are encouraged to provide meeting formats and forums that allow for on-campus and online involvement.