Skip to main content



Group photo of Spring 2024 Student of the Semester award recipients

Outstanding students recognized at Awards Day ceremony

By: Mike Gavin
Published: May 08, 2024

SPINDALE (May 3, 2024) – Dozens of Isothermal Community College’s finest students were praised for their exceptional academic efforts this week.

The annual Awards Day ceremony was held on Tuesday, April 30, at the Performing Arts and Conference Center. Dr. Greg Thomas, the college’s vice president of Academic and Student Affairs, welcomed the audience of students, friends, family, faculty and staff.

This year’s Academic Excellence Award went to Takiyah Brown. The award is the highest honor given to an Isothermal student each year.

Special recognition was also given to Chloe Price, the student who was the college’s nominee for the Dallas Herring Award, a prestigious state-level honor. Kimberly Trivette was recognized as the nominee for the North Carolina Community College System’s Gov. Bob Scott Student Leadership Award. The William V. Lee Scholarship for a student in the field of criminal justice was awarded to Jeffery Yelton.

Members of this year’s Student Government Association were also recognized and thanked. They are: Francisco Chavez, president, vice president; Angela Ekstrom, and secretary; Kimberly Trivette.

Many other awards were given that evening, each to a student who has distinguished himself or herself in their academic endeavors. The Learning College Student of the Semester Awards were presented by Dr. Greg Thomas, vice president of Academic and Student Affairs. The program awards were presented by the faculty members who nominated the various students. The awards were presented to:


Students of the Semester
Kevin Chavez Bautista - Polk Early College High School
Joshua Carruth - Occupation Education, Polk Campus
Jay Guffey - Health and Public Services, College & Career Promise, Career Technical Pathway
William Holness - Basic Skills/College & Career Readiness
Layton Laurita - Arts & Sciences, Career and College Promise, College Transfer Pathway
Marsha Denise Loudermilk - Occupational Education, Rutherford Campus
Samantha (Sam) Lovelace, Applied Technologies - Applied Sciences and Engineering Technology Division
Latasha Marble – Academic Development
Desmond Martin – Applied Technologies, Business Sciences Division
Mitchell Maxwell – Applied Technologies, Career and College Promise, Career Technical Pathway, Business Sciences Division
Sadie McBrayer – Health and Public Services
Lisa Price –Rutherford Early College High School
Mark Quick – Arts & Sciences
Michelle Sain – Health and Public Services
Bradley Whitener – Academic Development
Alissa Woolum – Basic Skills/College & Career Readiness


Departmental Outstanding Students
Arts and Sciences
Lauren Black, and Thaddeus McCord
Applied Sciences and Engineering Technologies
Business Sciences Division
Crystal “Nickie” Hudson
Health and Public Services
Sherry Hill, and Adrian F. Solis


Program Awards
Self-Enrichment Award: Academic Development – Danielle Ensley
General Biology – Haley Holden
Pre-Allied Health Biology – Debbie Hendrick
General Chemistry – Ava Nelson
Freshman English – Brennan Kingery
Sophomore English – Miriam Mills
Health Education – Daniela Delta
Mathematics – Brennan Kingery
Astronomy – Grace L. Turner
General Physics – Andrew M. Rice
College Physics – Taylor S. Newton
Public Speaking – Christa Price
Sociology – Darby Lambert
Spanish – Jayden Conner
Accounting and Economics – Kimberly Trivette
Agribusiness Technology – Elizabeth Lethers
Business Administration – Autumn Clay Upton
Equine Business – Nori Webb
Information Technology – Joshua Carroll
Medical Office Administration – McKenna Splawn
Associate Degree Nursing – Kaylyn Luckadoo
Criminal Justice – Lindsey Deese
Associate of Arts Teacher Preparation – Stephanie Philbeck
Cosmetology – Savannah McSwain
Manicuring – Alexis Logan
Dental Assisting – Beth Owens
Early Childhood Education – Breanna Oliver
Esthetics – Caitlin Roper
Human Services Technology: Animal Assisted Interactions – Tamara E McElyea
Human Services Technology: Addiction and Recovery Services – Jennifer Mangham
Human Services Technology – Morgan Shew
Practical Nursing – Kenneth Taylor
Advertising and Graphic Design – Mya Quick
Broadcasting and Production Technology – Jason Paredes
Computer Engineering Technology – Mason Rash
Building Construction Technology – Sydney Bell
Electronics Engineering Technology – Joshua Beaver
Electrical Systems Technology – Juan “David” Reyes-Cervantes