Skip to main content



Outstanding students recognized at Awards Day Ceremony

By: Mike Gavin
Published: May 06, 2022

SPINDALE (May 5, 2022) – Dozens of Isothermal Community College’s finest students were praised for their exceptional academic efforts this week.

The annual Awards Day ceremony was held on Thursday, May 5, at the Main Campus Amphitheater. Dr. Margaret Annunziata, the college’s president, welcomed the audience of students, friends, family, faculty and staff.

This year’s Academic Excellence Award went to Adam Chinchar. The award is the highest honor given to an Isothermal student each year. 

Chinchar, a Polk County native and graduate pf Polk Central High School, enrolled at Isothermal Community College after serving as a sonar technician in the US Navy.  During his time at ICC, he has been a role model and leader. He plans to transfer to UNC-Charlotte to further his education. 

The award was presented by Aaron Greene, superintendent of Polk County Schools and a member of the ICC Polk Foundation.

Special recognition was also given to Eddy Jackson Corbin, the student who was the college’s nominee for the Dallas Herring Award, a prestigious state-level honor. Hope Sarate was recognized as the nominee for the North Carolina Community College System’s Gov. Bob Scott Student Leadership Award. The William V. Lee Scholarship for a student in the field of criminal justice was awarded to Lindsey Deese.

Members of this year’s Student Government Association were also recognized and thanked. They are: Hope Sarate, president; Madison Wise, vice president; Francisco Chavez, secretary; Nicholas Burgin, parliamentarian; Cheyenne Jennings, treasurer; Ashley Cole, public information officer; Abby Hammock, public information officer; David Nolan, public information officer and Pat the Patriot; Kim Trivette, Engineering & Applied Sciences senator; and Shaunita Toney, Peer 2 Peer representative and Business Sciences senator.

Many other awards were given that evening, each to a student who has distinguished himself or herself in their academic endeavors. The Learning College Student of the Semester Awards were presented by Dr. Greg Thomas, vice president of Academic and Student Affairs. The program awards were presented by the faculty members who nominated the various students. The awarded were presented to:

Students of the Semester
Kaleb James Adair, CCP College Transfer; 
Jessica Atkins, Occupational Education; 
Catherine Barsaloux, arts and Sciences; 
Jose Chavez-Bautista, Business Sciences; 
Debra Brown, Health and Public Services; 
Dakota Davis, Business Sciences; 
Hannah Elliott, Business Sciences; 
Amelia Raquel Harmon, Health and Public Services; 
Luke Hood, CCP College Transfer; 
Rebecca Jackson, Academic Development; 
Jennifer Lawrence, Occupational Education; 
Tabitha Lucas, Applied Sciences and Engineering Technologies; 
Trinity B Powell, Polk Early College; 
Selena Prescott, Rutherford Early College High School; 
Bryan Raymundo, CCP College Transfer; 
Karah Ruppe, Academic Development; 
Esperanza Santibanez, College and Career Readiness; 
Graciela Trejo-Diaz, College and Career Readiness; 
Seth Trottier, Arts and Sciences; and 
Anya White Applied Sciences and Engineering Technologies.
Departmental Outstanding Students
Arts and Sciences
Adam Chinchar, and Jessika Hardin
Applied Sciences and Engineering Technologies
Teva Crawford, Tyler Gibson, and Nicolas Murray
Business Sciences
Jamie Marr, and Margaret Mauriello
Health and Public Services
Riley Lauter, and Lucero Santibanez
Program Awards
Self-Enrichment Award: Academic Development – Kolby Grub
Biology – Serena Prescott
Biology: Pre-Allied Health – Buffy Lynch
General Chemistry – Ryan Davis
Organic and Biochemistry – Taylor Jackson
Freshman English – Andrew Rice
Sophomore English – Lydia Zimmer
History – Stephanie Roach
Psychology – Catherine Barsaloux
Humanities – Seth Trottier
Mathematics – Christian N. Modirzadeh
Music – Caleb Wallace
Astronomy – Carter McKinney
College Physics – Kasey Smith
General Physics – Matthew Heffron
Public Speaking – Andrea Narvaez-Santos
Sociology – Amiyah Hardy
Spanish – Emily Waters
Accounting and Finance – Ana Aleman
Agribusiness Technology – Dakota B. Davis
Business Administration – Jamie Marr
Equine Business – Jordan Laws
Information Technology: Web Admin. And Design – Deborah Kennedy
Medical Office Administration – Traci Nalley
Associate Degree Nursing – Christine Conner
Criminal Justice Technology – Lindsay Deese
Dental Assisting – Jennifer “Taylor” Harris
Early Childhood Education – Ashley McEntyre
Esthetics – Daisy Soto-Rivera
Human Services Technology – Debra Brown
Human Services Technology: Animal-Assisted Interactions – Amanda Yokely
Practical Nursing – Jessica Louise Hembree
Advertising and Graphic Design – Kat Mikelson
Broadcasting and Production Technology – Mariah Elliott
Computer Engineering Technology – Cory Clemons
Electronics Engineering Technology – Matthew Heffron
Welding Technology – Ronnie Simpson
Mechanical Engineering – Dalton Osborn