Isothermal Community College

Student Services

Clubs and Organizations


Are you looking for an organization to join? Let’s get you involved! Clubs and organizations at Isothermal Community College demonstrate interest and cultivate awareness in many areas such as culture, student writing, various professions, and special interests. If you have an idea for a new organization, visit the Student Activities Office in the Student Center Lobby to make your idea a reality.

Chartered Clubs and Organizations

(Clubs and organizations that may receive funding from the SGA)

Student Government Association (SGA)


The Student Government Association (SGA) is a long-standing organization with Isothermal Community College that seeks to serve as the voice for Isothermal Students and channels communication between clubs, organizations, and College personnel. Students actively involved in the SGA learn leadership development skills, sharpen problem-solving and critical thinking, and contribute to creative endeavors.

Advisor: Lisa Courtney Email: lcourtney@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-4196 Office: Student Activities Office, Student Center Lobby

Anuran


The Anuran is the College's annual literary journal. It is designed as a published collection of poems and essays, the culmination of a yearly poetry and essay contest drawing on the talents of Isothermal and the surrounding communities.

Advisor: Erin Balmer Email: ebalmer@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1617 Office: Administration 201F

Advisor: Matthew Humphries Email: mhumphries@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1620 Office: Administration 201H

Cosmetology Club


The Cosmetology Club provides activities relevant to the changing fashion industry and to bring to the campus outstanding artists in all aspects of the field of Cosmetology. Information about career opportunities is provided for those just entering the field.

Advisor: Connie Toney Email: ctoney@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1439 Office: Cosmetology Lab

Foothills Nursing Consortium Student Nurses' Association


The Foothills Nursing Consortium provides programs representative of fundamental and current professional interests and concerns and to aid in the development of the whole person, his/her professional role, and his/her responsibility for the health care of people in all walks of life.

Advisor: Marian Price Email: mprice@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1769 Office: Rutherford Learning Center

Intramural Sports


The Intramural Sports program gives all students an opportunity to engage in various programs of physical activity, such as basketball, softball, tennis, golf, badminton, volleyball and swimming.

Advisor: Chuck Summey Office: Student Center Gym

National Technical Honor Society (NTHS)


The National Technical Honor Society recognizes achievement in career and technical education.

Advisor: Tiffany Cooper Email: tcooper@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1638 Office: Business Sciences 110

Advisor: Sarah Kilgo Email: skilgo@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1526 Office: Business Sciences 123

Phi Beta Lambda Business Society


Phi Beta Lambda is a non-profit educational association and membership is open to any student enrolled in a business or business-related field.

Advisor: Rebecca Haney Email: rhaney@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1305 Office: Business Sciences 103

Advisor: Katlin Mitchell Email: kmitchell@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1423 Office: Business Sciences

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society


Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society for junior colleges recognizes students of top academic standing.

Advisor: Erin Balmer Email: ebalmer@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1617 Office: Administration 201F

Student Practical Nurses' Club

The Student Practical Nurses' Club promotes a professional and social atmosphere for students in the LPN program and also to enhance character and professionalism in men and women.

Advisor: Carole Koehler Email: ckoehler@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1647 Office: Rutherford Learning Center

Advisor: Erin Maietta Email: emaietta@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1446 Office: Rutherford Learning Center 302B

Uncommon Leaders Club


The Uncommon Leaders Club seeks to empower, support, and embolden men of color to establish strong foundations for success as they work toward achieving their academic, personal, and professional goals by building upon achievements, utilizing campus/community resources, and expanding encouraging relationships.

Advisor: Kenneth Hines Email: khines@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395- 4232 Office: Student Center 18D

Non-Chartered Clubs and Organizations

(Clubs and organizations that are recognized but are not eligible for funding from the SGA)

Achieving Connection Through Service (ACTS)


Advisor: Lisa Courtney Email: lcourtney@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-4196 Office: Student Activities Office, Student Center Lobby

Advisor: Joel Ekstrom Email: jekstrom@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1635 Office: Student Center 18C

Book Club


Advisor: Jeremy Burris Email: jburris@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1467 Office: Administration 210B

Computer Design and Photography Club


Advisor: Zachary Freeman Email: zfreeman@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1534 Office: Communications Building

Criminal Justice Club


Advisor: Thomas Tarker Email: ttarker@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1448 Office: Applied Sciences 1H

Entrepreneur Club


Advisor: Rick Childress Email: rchildress@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1641 Office: Business Sciences 107

Patriot Debate Team


Advisor: Melissa Johnson Email: johnsonm@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1524 Office: Business Sciences 101

Advisor: Dr. Keith Poole Email: kpoole@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1756 Office: Administration 201C

RPM/Machining Club


Advisor: Jeff Waters Email: jwaters@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1409 Office: Machining Technology

The Leadership Academy (ICC-GWU Partnership)


Advisor: Mark Franklin Email: mfranklin@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1677 Office: The Foundation

The National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS)


Advisor: Sarah Morse Email: smorse@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1763 Office: The Foundation

Welding Club


Advisor: Nathan Fisher Email: nfisher@isothermal.edu
Phone: 828-395-1515 Office: Welding Shop