Safe Driving Class
Got a traffic ticket, but don’t want your insurance rates to go up?
Don't let that ticket ruin your driving record. The District Attorney, Clerk of Court, and Judges want us to be safer drivers.
If you have been charged with a minor traffic violation in the 29th Judicial District (McDowell and Rutherford) or other counties in North Carolina honoring the National Safety and Health Council's Defensive Driving Program, you may elect to have it reduced by the District Attorney.
Isothermal Community College offers the Defensive Driving Program. through the National Safety Council of NC which trains motorists in the principles of safe driving.
Who Can Enroll in Safe Driving Class?
If You Have A Ticket For One Of The Following:
- Speeding (15 over up to 65 mph)
- Motorcycle Only Violations
- Crossing Median
- Failing to Reduce Speed
- Exceeding a Safe Speed
- Wrong Way on Dual Lane
- City Code Violation
- Failing to Stop for RR Warning
- Failing to Give Turn Signal
- Driving Left of Center
- Driving Without Two Headlights
- Following Too Close
- Stop Sign Violation
- Wrong Way on One-Way Road
- Leaving Vehicle Unattended
- Failing to Dim Headlights
- Overloading Violation
- Improper Use of Traffic Lane
- Failing to Burn Headlamps
- Red Light Violation
- Unsafe Movement
- Failing to Yield Right-of-Way
- Exceeding Posted Limit
- Speed Less Than Minimum
- ***Improper Passing *** (See Note Below)
NOTE: Unlawfully Pass Emergency Vehicle, Reckless Driving, & Talking/Texting while Driving Citations— Need Permission Form , No Exceptions
NOTE: More than 15 MPH and above in any zone has to have a permission form, no exceptions! Any speed Greater than 80 MPH requires Permission Form from District Attorneys Office.
***NOTE: Improper Passing Age 25 and Up ***8 hour course only*** - Needs Permission Form
Ages 16—24 *** Alive @25 only*** - Needs Permission Form
The District Attorney & District Court Judges Want You to be a Safe Driver!
If you have been charged with one of the traffic violations listed above, the Safe Driving Program may prevent assessment of insurance points or premium surcharges on your policy and/or points on your North Carolina driver’s license.** This program is made available by the 29A Judicial District (McDowell and Rutherford Counties). To receive these benefits you must complete the 4-hour Defensive Driving Course (Drivers aged 16– 24 will take Alive at 25) and pay the court costs and fines at least two working days before your court date. There are some situations when points may still go on your insurance. Check with your insurance agency with any questions.
YOU MUST PRE-REGISTER at Isothermal Community College Continuing Education Office
Foundation Building (1st Floor), Spindale Campus or you can pre-register by phone with a credit or debit card.
We accept Visa and Master Card only over the phone, and accept cash or check on campus.
Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
4-Hour Class Schedule: Weekly
Wednesday: 5 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Saturday: 8 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Alive at 25 Class Schedule:
(Only for ages 16—24 years)
Thursday: 5 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Second and Fourth Thursday of each month
8-Hour Class Schedule:
Saturday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Last Saturday of each month
You Will Need the Following To Pre-Register:
- Your traffic citation
- Your driver's license
- Your social security number
- Cash, credit card, or money order made payable to Isothermal Community College.
Costs: $50 for 4-hour; $75 for 8-hour
After completing the course:
You will enter into a written Plea Agreement and plead guilty to driving with improper equipment.
The Plea Agreement will be signed at the time of registration.
Pay court cost of $188 and $50 fine to the Clerk of Court after completing the class, totaling $238.
For more information, call(828) 395-1410 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
These classes are offered through the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina