# MINUTES ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MAY 13, 1986

The Isothermal Community College Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, May 13, 1986, in the Lecture Room of the Business Education Building. The following trustees were present: Jack E. Buchanan, Chairman; Jervis Arledge, Opal Sauve, Frances Spratt, M. B. Robinson, Douglas Pearson, Beckie Randall, and J. D. Cooley. The following staff members were present: Herman Porter, Dillard Morrow, Catherine Jolley, Mary Burgin, Ralph McNabb, Walter Timm, Jack Paul, John Karriker, Geoffrey Balkam, and Frankie McWhorter. The following guests were present: Mrs. Robert Wendell Eaves, Mr. Bob Eaves, Mrs. Rose Smith, Mrs. Barbara Hallatt, Mr. David Hallatt, Fred Callahan, Jr., Ms. Joyce Bohannon, Amy Tanner, The Dailyy Courier; Ludy Wilkie, WBBO Radio; Walt Hoagland, WAGY Radio; and Jean Gordon, The Rutherford County News. Chairman Buchanan called the meeting to order at 5:22 pm.

# Approval of Minutes

A motion was made by Jervis Arledge, seconded by Beckie Randall, that the minutes of the regular meeting of February 11, 1986, and the special meetings of April 2, 3, and 9, 1986 be approved.

# Presentation of Robert Wendell Eaves Distinguished Teaching Award

The fourth annual Robert Wendell Eaves Distinguished Teaching Award was presented to Barbara Peterson Hallatt, English Instructor, for demonstrated excellence in teaching and a "zeal for service." Mrs. Hallatt was awarded a plaque and a cash contribution. Mrs. Robert Wendell Eaves joined President Porter in making the presentation. Following the presentation, Bob Eaves made a few brief comments to the Board on behalf of the Eaves family.

### Business Affairs

A motion was made by Frances Spratt, seconded by J. D. Cooley, that the budget revisions be approved as presented by Controller Jolley. The motion was unanimously approved.

A motion was made by M. B. Robinson, seconded by Doug Pearson, to approve the following resolutions:

- A resolution authorizing facsimile signatures of Willard L. Lewis, III, President, and Catherine Jolley, Controller for BB&T accounts
- A resolution authorizing signatures on checks (manually) of Willard L. Lewis, III, Catherine Jolley, Dianne Clayton, and Irene Tucker for BB&T accounts

The motion was unanimously approved.

ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE Board of Trustees Meeting May 13, 1986 Page 2

A motion was made by J. D. Cooley, seconded by M. B. Robinson, that the Board accept the recommendation of the Finance Committee for the 1986-87 local budget request of \$952,727 for current expense and \$90,000 for capital outlay. The motion was unanimously approved. (Attachment)

Mr. J. D. Cooley, Chairman of the Building Committee, announced that the schematics for the maintenance building and technical-training building were being processed and that bids may be let in September. Mr. Cooley stated that the proposed Polk County satellite-campus building was on hold until a fund drive is completed.

## Personnel

A motion was made by J. D. Cooley, seconded by Opal Sauve, to approve the following personnel recommendations:

- Summer Educational Leave, With Pay, Edward L. Barrier, Math Instructor, June 1, 1986 - August 15, 1986
- Approval of Contract, Cathy Jackson, Duplicating and Graphics Specialist, April 1, 1986 - June 30, 1986
- 3. Letters of Resignation:
  - a. Sheila Pleasants, Polk County Campus, February 14, 1986
  - b. Rosemary Hendrick, Music Instructor, June 1, 1986
- 4. Maternity Leave, Treva Clayton, May 6, 1986 August 31, 1986
- 5. Retirement for the following personnel:
  - a. Gordon Pyle, Vice President, Polk Campus, June 30, 1986
  - b. Mary Frances McEntire, Maid, April 30, 1986
  - c. G. Herman Porter, Acting President, June 6, 1986

The motion was unanimously approved.

Chairman Buchanan announced that the State Board of Community Colleges approved Dr. Willard L. Lewis, III as President of Isothermal Community College at its regular meeting on May 8, 1986.

### Other Business

A motion was made by Jervis Arledge, seconded by Doug Pearson, to accept the recommendation of the Ad Hoc Committee for Review of Board By-Laws to amend the Board By-Laws to reflect the following two changes:

- The addition of one trustee to be appointed by the Polk County Commissioners
- Change the term of service for trustees from eight years to four years

The motion was unanimously approved. (Attachment states specific changes)

Isothermal Community College Board of Trustees Meeting May 13, 1986 Page 3

President Porter and Frances Spratt reported on the North Carolina Association of Community College Trustees Meeting in Columbia, SC on April 3-5, 1986. Dr. Porter announced that State President Robert W. Scott has been named, by the Association of Community College Trustees, as the Outstanding Chief Executive Officer of the Southern region. Mrs. Spratt had nominated President Scott for this honor.

The Nominating Committee recommended, and the Board of Trustees unanimously elected, the following slate of officers for 1986-87, such terms to begin July 1, 1986:

James T. Tanner M. B. Robinson Frances Spratt Chairman Vice Chairman Secretary-Treasurer

President Porter announced that Ted Hall, a former student and publisher of The Shelby Daily Star, will be guest speaker for the graduation ceremonies on June 3, 1986.

Chairman Buchanan announced that the annual dinner meeting with the Rutherford County Commissioners will be held on Monday, May 19, 1986, at 5:30 pm in the Management Seminar Room of the Business Education Building.

The Board of Trustees presented Dr. Porter with a golf bag and set of head covers in appreciation for his service to the institution.

Chairman Buchanan addressed the Board of Trustees at the close of the meeting. (Attachment)

Dr. M. B. Robinson addressed the Board of Trustees at the close of Chairman Buchanan's remarks. He expressed his personal appreciation for the accomplishments of the college under Mr. Buchanan's leadership.

The meeting adjourned at 6:18 pm.

VICE Chairman

Secretary