MINUTES
ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE
MEETING OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES
MANAGEMENT SEMINAR ROOM
BUSINESS EDUCATION BUILDING
JUNE 24, 1985

The Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College met on Monday, June 24, 1985 in the Management Seminar Room of the Business Education Building. Board members present were: Jack Buchanan, Chairman; Ivy Cowan, J. D. Cooley, Beckie Randall, Joe Miller, Doug Pearson, Jimmy Tanner, Don Lovelace, Frances Spratt, Jervis Arledge, M. B. Robinson and Harold Burrell. Others present were: Ben Fountain, Dillard Morrow, Catherine Jolley, Mary Burgin, Geoffrey Balkam, Gordon Pyle, Susan Hewitt, Jeff Melton, The Shelby Star, Ken Soo, The Charlotte Observer; and Trustee Elect Opal Sauve. Chairman Buchanan called the meeting to order at 3:10 pm.

Chairman Buchanan welcomed Harold Burrell, Opal Sauve, and the news media.

Approval of Minutes

A motion was made by Don Lovelace, seconded by Joe Miller, that the minutes of June 14, 1985 be approved. Jervis Arledge moved to amend the minutes to note that a presidential waiver of notice to appear before the Board of Trustees (Policies and Procedures Manual, Section VII, D.) was not necessary but that it was acceptable. Try Cowan seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Date and Time Set for Next Trustees' Meeting

A motion was made by Frances Spratt, seconded by Joe Miller to set the date and time of the next Trustees' Meeting at the conclusion of the current meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Executive Meeting.

A motion was made by Joe Miller, seconded by Ivy Cowan, that the Board go into executive session to discuss the performance of a college employee and that Glenda Scruggs remain and take minutes. The motion passed with Frances Spratt and Don Lovelace opposing. The executive session was called to order at 3:35 pm.

Trustee Elect Opal Sauve remained in the executive session upon invitation of the Board.

The executive session adjourned at 9:05 pm.

A motion was made by Joe Miller, seconded by Ivy Cowan to recess until 3 pm, June 25, 1985, then to reconvene, at that time, in executive session.

The meeting adjourned at 9:15 pm.

Minutes Board of Trustees Page 2

JUNE 25, 1985

By mutual consent, the Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College resumed the exectuvie session of the previous day in the Management Seminar Room of the Business Education Building. Board members present were: Jack Buchanan, Chairman; Ivy Cowan, Frances Spratt, Jimmy Tanner, M. B. Robinson, Beckie Randall, Jervis Arledge, Doug Pearson, Joe Miller and Don Lovelace. Also attending was Trustee Elect Opal Sauve. Chairman Buchanan called the recessed executive session to order at 4:12 pm. The Chairman stated that the meeting would operate under the same format as the previous meeting.

The executive session adjourned at 10 pm.

A motion was made by Joe Miller, seconded by Frances Spratt, to recess until 3 pm, June 26, 1985, then to reconvene, at that time, in executive session. The motion was unanimously approved.

The meeting adjourned at 10:15 pm.

JUNE 26, 1985

By mutual consent, the Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College resumed the executive session of the previous day in the Management Seminar Room of the Business Education Building. Board members present were: Jack Buchanan, Chairman; Joe Miller, Ivy Cowan, Jervis Arledge, Doug Pearson, M. B. Robinson, Beckie Randall, Don Lovelace, Frances Spratt, and Ivy Cowan. Also attending was Trustee Elect Opal Sauve, Chairman Buchanan called the recessed executive session to order at 3:20 pm.

The executive session adjourned at 10:15 pm.

A motion was made by Joe Miller, seconded by Jimmy Tanner, and passed (with Frances Spratt opposing) to recess until 7:30 pm, June 27, 1985, then to reconvene, at that time, in executive session.

The meeting adjourned at 10:30 pm.

JUNE 27, 1985

By mutual consent, the Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College resumed the executive session of the previous day in the Management Seminar Room of the Business Education Building. Board members present were: Jack Buchanan, Chairman; Joe Miller, Ivy Cowan, Frances Spratt, Beckie Randall, Jervis Arledge, M. B. Robinson, Doug Pearson, Don Lovelace, and Jimmy Tanner. Also present was Trustee Elect Opal Sauve. Chairman Buchanan called the recessed executive session to order at 7:36 pm.

The executive session adjourned at 9:05 pm.

Minutes Board of Trustees Page 3

Chairman Jack Buchanan read the following letter:

"This is to announce my retirement to be effective at the convenience of the Board of Trustees. I want to thank you again for the opportunity to have served as President of Isothermal Community College. I extend my best wishes to all associated with the college for what I know will be a rewarding future of service to the students and communities of Rutherford and Polk Counties." -Ben E. Fountain, Jr.-

A motion was made by Joe Miller, seconded by M. B. Robinson, to accept the retirement of Ben E. Fountain, Jr. effective July 31, 1985. The motion was unanimously approved.

A motion was made by Joe Miller, seconded by Jervis Arledge, that effective immediately, all employees are to remain in their present positions until a new President is named. The motion was unanimously approved.

The meeting adjourned at 9:25 pm.

Chairman

Secretary