MINUTES

ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MAY 14, 1985

The Isothermal Community College Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, May 14, 1985 in the Seminar Room of the Business Education Building.

Board members present were: Jack E. Buchanan, Chairman; Ivy Cowan, Frances Spratt, J. D. Cooley, Douglas Pearson, Jervis Arledge, Beckie Randall, M. B. Robinson, Joe Miller, Don Lovelace, James Tanner and Robin Philbeck, Student Government Association President. Others present were: Ben Fountain, Dillard Morrow, Walter Timm, Catherine Jolley, John Karriker, Gordon Pyle, Susan Hewitt, Carolyn Harrison, Frances Haney, Mary Ann Head, Nancy Womack, James Hall, Jack Paul, Paul Muller, Chairman of the Polk County Council, Amy Tanner, The Daily Courier; Walt Hoagland, WAGY; and Ludie Wilkie, WBBO. Guests were Mrs. Robert Wendell Eaves, Mrs. Rose Eaves Smith, and Mr. Ray Head. Chairman Buchanan called the meeting to order at 5:03 pm.

Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the regular Board of Trustees; meeting of February 12, 1985 and the special Board meeting of March 12, 1985 were approved.

Presentation of Robert Wendell Eaves Distinguished Teaching Award

The third annual Robert Wendell Eaves Distinguished Teaching Award was given, by the Board of Trustees, to Mary Ann Head, Coordinator Learning Place/Adult High School Program, for demonstrated excellence in teaching and a "zeal for service." Mrs. Head was awarded a plaque and a cash contribution. Mrs. Robert Wendell Eaves joined President Fountain in making the presentation.

Business Affairs

A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approved budget revisions as presented by Controller Jolley.

Mr. Paul Muller, Chairman of the Polk County Advisory Council, gave a progress report on the activities of the Council.

Dr. Dillard Morrow reported that he and the architect were pleased with construction progress thus far. Dr. Morrow reported that two construction conferences had been held and that a representative from Boney Architect was present for all critical meetings and other times.

Mr. J. D. Cooley, Chairman of the Building Committee, reported that final details had been completed by the Attorney and that the 3.05 acres of land adjoining the college had been purchased.

Academic Affairs

Mr. James Hall reported on the newly established Honors Scholars Program for freshmen students who will enroll at Isothermal Community College in the fall of 1985. Chairman Buchanan stated that the Board of Trustees should show their support for the Honors Program in a monetary way. Chairman

Board of Trustees Minutes May 14, 1985 Page 2

Buchanan challenged each Trustee to contribute a hundred dollars to the Program.

Personnel

The Board unanimously approved the following personnel recommendations:

- 1. Requests for Summer Educational Leave, With Pay, for:
- . a. Rosemary Hendrick, Music, June 1 August 31, 1985
 - b. Nancy Womack, English, June 1 August 31, 1985
 - c. Jim Hall, Mathematics, June 1 Agust 31, 1985
 - d. Gary Shipley, Biology, June 1 August 31, 1985
 - e. Vivian Sitton, Social Sciences, June 1 August 31, 1985
 - f. Betty Gabriel, Developmental English, June 1 Agust 31, 1985
- 2. Resignations of the following personnel:
 - a. Judith Shapiro, Director of Nursing Program, April 4, 1985
 - b. Tom Sherman, Director of Occupational Extension, May 1, 1985
 - c. Deborah Gaddy, Supervisor of Adult Education Program, June 30, 1985
 - d. Pam Whiteside, Nursing Instructor, May 31, 1985
- 3. Retirement of the following personnel:
 - a. Neilan Underwood, Electronics Instructor, April 1, 1985
 - b. Bruce Gibson, Security Guard, June 30, 1985
 - c. Elsie Wilson, Maid, June 30, 1985

A motion was made, seconded, and passed to express the commendation of the Board of Trustees to Neilan Underwood and Tom Sherman for their outstanding achievements and services to the college.

Other Business

The Nominating Committee recommended, and the Board of Trustees unanimously elected, the following slate of officers for the 1985-86 year:

Jack E. Buchanan Joe A Miller Frances H. Spratt

Chairman Vice-Chairman Secretary-Treasurer

The Board unanimously approved the recommendation of Chairman Buchanan to establish two additional standing committees to the Board of Trustees:

- 1. Curriculum Committee
- 2. Personnel Committee

Chairman Buchanan reported on the ACCT 1985 Southern Region Seminar held in Biloxi, Mississippi on March 21-23, 1985.

Mrs. Frances Spratt reported on the North Carolina Association of Community College Trustees Meeting held in Raleigh on May 7-9, 1985.

President Fountain announced that Commencement would be held Sunday, May 26, 1985 at 4 pm in the gymnasium with Dr. Cynthia Tyson as Speaker.

Board of Trustees Minutes May 14, 1985 Page 3

The Chairman, on behald of the Board, expressed appreciation to Mrs. Eaves for her participation at the meeting. The Chairman noted that Robin Philbeck, student member of the Board of Trustees whould soon be completing her educational program at the college and expressed appreciation for her faithful attendance and participation in the deliberations of the Board.

Ms. Philbeck responded with favorable comments about her college experience and membership on the Board.

A motion was made, seconded, and passed (with one abstention) to go into executive session to discuss the job performance of a college employee.

Following the executive session, a motion was made, seconded, and passed that the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees select 10-12 people to appear before the full board to include people from the three divisions, administration, and Dr. Fountain privately and individually and to include anyone else that wants to be heard.

The meeting adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Chairman

Secretary