MINUTES

ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE MEETING OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES

AUGUST 4, 1981

The Isothermal Community College Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, August 4, 1981 in the Board Room of the College.

Board members present were: Jack E. Buchanan, Chairman; Ivy Cowan, James Tanner, Ernest Yelton, Janie Callahan, Frances Spratt, Jervis Arledge, and Joe Miller. Others present were: Ben Fountain, Catherine Jolley, Dillard Morrow, Wilbur Wright, Ann Freeman, Jack Paul and Bill Traynor, The Daily Courier. Chairman Buchanan called the meeting to order at 5:12 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the regular Board of Trustees' meeting on May 19, 1981 were approved.

Trustee Appointments

Chairman Buchanan introduced Jervis Arledge, of Rutherfordton, to membership on the Board of Trustees. Chairman Buchanan also announced the re-appointment of Douglas Pearson to the Board of Trustees for another term.

Resolution of Appreciation

The Board expressed appreciation to A. Clyde Tomblin, charter member of the Board of Trustees, for his service to Isothermal Community College and approved a resolution expressing sentiments of the Board. (Attachment 1)

Business Affairs

President Fountain reviewed the 1981-82 State Budget Allotment and Budget Allotments Over the Years with the Board. (Attachment 2 and 3)

All fund transfers for 1980-81 were approved as presented by Controller Jolley.

President Fountain reviewed the 1981-82 State, Local, and Institutional Budgets with the Board. The Board unanimously approved the Budgets and adopted the appropriate resolution. (Attachments 5 and 6)

Academic Affairs

Director of Admissions, Wilbur Wright, showed the Board a filmstrip that is placed in area high school guidance offices to help prospective students see what is offered at Isothermal Community College.

Personnel

The Board of Trustees unanimously approved the following personnel recommendations:

- 1. The resignation of Alfred Johnson, HRD Recruiter/Instructor
- 2. Contracts for the following personnel:
 - a. Maurice Stirewalt
 - b. Sylvia Jenkins
 - c. William McDaniel
 - d. Irene Schauer.

Isothermal Community College Trustees' Meeting August 4, 1981 Page 2

- 3. 1981-82 Contracts for full-time faculty (Attachment 7)
- 4. Request for maternity leave for Mary Ann Head
- 5. Leave Policy Revisions (Attachment 8)

Election of Board Treasurer

The Nominating Committee recommended the consolidation of the offices of Secretary and Treasurer to the Board of Trustees. The Board unanimously approved the consolidation and elected Frances Spratt to serve as Secretary-Treasurer.

Appointment of Committees

Chairman Buchanan announced the following committee appointments:

OFFICERS

Jack E. Buchanan Joe A. Miller Frances H. Spratt

BUILDING COMMITTEE

Robert Hawkins, Chairman Don H. Lovelace Douglas L. Pearson Jack E. Buchanan, EX OFFICIO

FINANCE COMMITTEE

James T. Tanner, Chairman Ernest H. Yelton Ivy Cowan Jack E. Buchanan, EX OFFICIO

GROUNDS CARE AND IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE

Ivy Cowan, Chairman Janie G. Callahan Ernest H. Yelton Chairman Vice Chairman Secretary-Treasurer

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Jack E. Buchanan, Chairman Joe A. Miller Frances H. Spratt James T. Tanner, EX OFFICIO

FOUNDATION COMMITTEE

Ernest H. Yelton, Chairman Janie G. Callahan Frances H. Spratt A. Jervis Arledge Harold Burrell

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Joe A. Miller, Chairman Ivy Cowan Ernest H. Yelton

Other Business

President Fountain made the following announcements:

- 1. Fall Faculty Workshop September 1, 1981
- 2. Fall Registration September 2 & 3, 1981
- Trustees Frances Spratt and Jack Buchanan and President Fountain will attend the 12th Annual Trustees' Convention in Boston - September 22-26, 1981
- 4. College Charter Day and Open House October 4, 1981

Isothermal Community College Trustees' Meeting August 4, 1981 Page 3

President Fountain announced the Board meeting dates for 1982:

Tuesday, February 9, 1982 Tuesday, May 11, 1982 Tuesday, August 10, 1982 Tuesday, November 9, 1982

Meeting adjourned at 6:05 p.m.

Chairman

Secretary

ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE SPINDALE, NORTH CAROLINA RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION AND RESPECT

WHEREAS, A. Clyde Tomblin served as a charter member of the Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College from December 1, 1964, until June 30, 1981, and

WHEREAS, A. Clyde Tomblin was an early supporter of the initial effort to establish a community college in Rutherford County and helped locate and negotiate the purchase of the site for the Isothermal Community College campus, and

WHEREAS, since that time, A. Clyde Tomblin has served as legal counsel for the College, treasurer to the Board of Trustees, and has loyally supported the College and its goals, and

WHEREAS, A. Clyde Tomblin is a civic leader who works tirelessly for programs and projects that will benefit his community and county and has played a major role in bringing new industry to Rutherford County, and

WHEREAS, A. Clyde Tomblin is a faithful and dedicated leader in the Spencer Baptist Church at Spindale, and

WHEREAS, A. Clyde Tomblin's contribution to the establishment and development of Isothermal Community College has been invaluable:

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE:

- 1. That the sincere appreciation of each member of the Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College be extended to A. Clyde Tomblin for his dedicated support of and service to Isothermal Community College.
- 2. That this resolution be included as part of the minutes of this meeting as a permanent record of the high esteem in which A. Clyde Tomblin is held by members of the Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College.

3. That a copy of this resolution be presented to A. Clyde Tomblin.

Benjamin E. Fountain, Jr., President Isothermal Community College Jack E. Buchanan, Chairman Isothermal Community College

Board of Trustees