# MINUTES ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE MEETING OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES MAY 19, 1981

The Isothermal Community College Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, May 19, 1981 in the Board Room of the College.

Board members present were: James Tanner, Chairman: Ivy Cowan, Don Lovelace, Jack Buchanan, Robert Hawkins, Ernest Yelton, Janie Callahan, Douglas Pearson, Clyde Tomblin and Paul Withrow, Student Government President. Others present were: Ben Fountain, Catherine Jolley, John Paul, James Hall, Ann Freeman, James Turner and Ron Parris, The Daily Courier. Chairman Tanner called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

## Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the regular Board of Trustees' meeting on February 10, 1981 and the Special Board Meeting on March 31, 1981 were approved.

### Academic Affairs

President Fountain reported that Vice President Morrow was attending a Hearing, in Raleigh, on Proposed Rule Changes.

James Turner gave an informative report on the vocational/technical programs offered at Isothermal Community College.

#### Business Affairs

All fund transfers were approved as presented by Controller Jolley. (Attachment)

A motion was made, seconded and passed as follows:

Be it resolved that Isothermal Community College be authorized to acquire a check signature machine and that said machine, stamps, plates, keys and other devices be placed in the custody of Catherine Jolley, Controller, and that the Controller is further charged with the responsibility of preventing the improper use of the signature machine and that the Controller shall be responsible for adequate bonding in sufficient amount to guard against any financial loss as a result of illegal, improper, or unauthorized use of the signature machine.

President Fountain reported on the Projected Estimated State Allotments for Fiscal Year 1981-82. (Attachment)

Jack Buchanan reported that the Local Budget for Fiscal Year 1981-82 was still under consideration by the County Commissioners.

Isothermal Community College Trustees' Meeting May 19, 1981 Page 2

## Personnel

The Board unanimously approved a contract for Mrs. Carolyn Harrison, Counselor, effective July 1, 1981 - June 30, 1982.

The Board unanimously approved the June, 1981 contracts for full-time faculty. (Attachment)

The Board unanimously approved Summer Educational Leave, with pay, for the following personnel:

Rita Conner Peggy Blanton Steve Coyne Appalachian State University

Wofford College University of Iowa

The Board unanimously accepted the resignation of Martha Layton, Reading-English Instructor, Special Services effective May 31, 1981.

President Fountain announced the retirement of Edward J. T. Lima effective July 31, 1981.

## Other Business

The Nominating Committee recommended, and the Board of Trustees elected, the following slate of officers for 1981-82:

Jack Buchanan Joe Miller Frances Spratt Clyde Tomblin Chairman Vice Chairman Secretary Treasurer

A report on the State Trustees' Meeting and Community College Congress, written by Trustee Frances Spratt, was distributed to each board member.

President Fountain announced that Commencement would be held on June 2, 1981 at 7 p.m. with Carl Horn, Jr., Speaker.

The meeting adjourned at 5:47 p.m.

Chairman

Secretary