## ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MAY 26, 1978

The Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College met May 26, 1978, at 4 p.m. in the Board Room.

Present were: James T. Tanner, Chairman, Ivy Cowan, William DeBrule, Robert Spratt, Dr. Douglas Pearson, Clyde Tomblin, Dr. Ernest Yelton and Janie Callahan. President Eason and Catherine Jolley, Business Manager were also present. Chairman Tanner called the meeting to order.

The Local Budget for fiscal year 1978 79 was presented to the Board of Trustees by President Eason. A motion was made and seconded that the budget be approved. Unanimous approval.

The Affirmative Action Report was presented to the Board by President Eason. A motion was made and seconded that the report be approved. Six approved, two opposed.

Transfer of funds (104 forms) were presented for approval. A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved that the transfers be approved as presented.

It was decided that THIS WEEK, THE ENTERPRISE, SHELBY DAILY STAR AND TRYON DAILY BULLETIN should be notified of the Board of Trustees meetings. In the future, notices are to be mailed to named papers when notices are sent out to the Trustees.

A motion was made that the Board of Trustees go into Executive Session. Motion was seconded and unanimously approved by the Board.

Robert Spratt, Chairman of the Screening Committee gave a report, stating that Jim Hall, John Paul, James T. Tanner and Jack Buchanan were on the Committee. Notices were mailed to all Community Colleges and the University System announcing position open and deadline for taking applications. Thirty eight applications along with resumes were received and were screened by the committee. They then selected the five most qualified for the position. The Committee then held interviews with the five applicants. Chairman Spratt stated that all the applications were exceptional and it had been a very difficult job for the Committee to select one applicant to recommend to the Board.

A motion was made that the Executive Session be closed. Motion seconded and unanimously approved.

The Screening Committee presented the name of Dr. Benjamin Eagles Fountain, Jr. as next President of Isothermal Community College.

A motion was made that Dr. Benjamin Eagles Fountain, Jr. be approved by the Board for President of Isothermal Community College. Motion seconded.

A motion was made that Dr. Dillard Morrow be approved by the Board for President of Isothermal Community College. Motion seconded.

A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved that nominations be closed.

Votes by show of hands were taken: Dr. Fountain - 5 votes, Dr. Morrow - 2 votes.

A motion was made that Fred J. Eason's resignation be accepted with a commendation, effective June 30, 1978. Motion seconded and unanimously approved by the Board.

The local salary supplement for the new President was discussed and \$9,000.00 per year was approved by the Board of Trustees.

Meeting adjourned.

Chairman Secretary