MINUTES OF TRUSTEES' MEETING, ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE

3LZ AF

April 8,1974

The Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College met Monday, April 8,1974 at 7:30 p.m. in the Board Room. Present were Jack Buchanan, Ivy Cowan, Mike Davis, Ken Holsombeck, Hollis Owens, Max Padgett, Robert Spratt, James Tanner, Clyde Tomblin and Fred J. Eason, President of the College.

Mr. Tanner, Vice-Chairman, called the meeting to order. The minutes of the last meeting were read and approved. The President also read the minutes of the last Executive Committee meeting. The actions of the Executive Committee were approved. Mike H. Davis was welcomed as a new member of the Board of Trustees by Mr. Tanner.

Five new programs were introduced to the Board by Dr. Edward L. Donovan:

CO-18 Pre-Science CO-26 Pre-Business Education TO-49 Industrial Management V-029 Light Construction T-064 Police Science

The Board voted to approve these new programs.

The President reported on the Southern Association status. He reported that Dr. C.G.Odom, Executive Dean of Mississippi Gulf Coast Junior College and Chairman of our Southern Association Visiting Committee, visited our campus on Friday, March 8, 1974. Dr. Odom was most impressed with his visit. He and the Visiting Committee will be arriving on our campus April 21,1974 for the accreditation visit. All members of the Board were urged to attend a dinner meeting on April 21, 1974 at Gardo's to meet the Visiting Committee. The President reported on the preliminary report and stated that members of the Board would be receiving their copies by mail within the next ten days.

A report on the Spring Festival was reported to the Board by the President. He stated that the Spring Festival would be held May 5-11,1974 and will not interfere with classes. He reported that one day had been set aside as a fishing day. The Board voted to permit fishing in the campus lake on May 7.

The following faculty and staff were recommended for summer educational leave:

Dillard Morrow	Full Pay/Full Summer	NCSU
iRaleigh Biggerstaff	Full Pay/Full Summer	UNC-CH
Gary Shipley	Full Pay/Full Summer	ASU
David Whisenant	Full Pay/Full Summer	UNC-C
Wesley Henderson	Full Pay/Full Summer	Highlands U.
James Hall	Full Pay/Full Summer	ASU
Ed Lima	Full Pay/Full Summer	Auburn U.
John Karriker	Full Pay/Full Summer	Auburn U.
Janet Smith	Without Pay/June Only	NCSU

The following instructors, on nine month contracts, were recommended for summer school. These instructors will be working towards their Master's Degree. There will be no salary involved, and they will not be entitled to leave with pay.

Barbara Callahan	Converse
Clara Fowler	ASU
Frances Haney	ASU

The Board approved summer educational leave for these instructors and faculty and staff members.

Mr. Tanner reported that he and Dr. Lena Mayberry had attended the State Trustee Association Meeting. He stated that he was very impressed with the workshop and felt that it was very worthwhile. As a result of his workshop session, he suggested that a full Board meeting be held to review certain recommendations set forth in the Self-Study report. A meeting was set for Friday, April 19,1974 at 4:00 p.m. in the Board Room.

The President presented routine fund transfers and requested their approval. The Board approved all fund transfers.

Following this action, the Board adjourned.

leon +

Secretary