## MINUTES OF TRUSTEES' MEETING, ISOTHERMAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE MONDAY, APRIL 28, 1969

The Trustees of Isothermal Community College met for their quarterly meeting at 7:30 P. M. on April 28, 1969, in the Board Room at Isothermal Community College. The following members were present: Paul Bridges, Ivy Cowan, Dr. W. M. Elliott, Spencer Gamble, Max Padgett, James Tanner, J. J. Tarlton, Clyde Tomblin, Frank West and the President, Fred J. Eason.

J. J. Tarlton, Chairman, called the meeting to order. The minutes of the last meeting were unanimously approved.

Fred J. Eason gave a report on campus development, particular by the lake and landscaping. A report on Capital Outlay expenditures to date was given to the Trustees and was unanimously approved.

The President requested that the Board approve the purchase of a 1969 Chevrolet station wagon at a cost of \$2,295.00 to be paid from Current Operating Capital Outlay Funds. The Board voted to approve this request.

The President presented information about funds which might be secured for the future building program.

The Board discussed the proposed program of textile training. Mr. Eason informed the Board that the textile industry is interested in promoting more interest in textile training at the high school level.

Mr. Eason stated that Isothermal Community College has a need for more space for General Adult Education Classes. He informed the Board that Carver High School is going to be closed and that space might be secured for these classes at this location.

It is estimated that the budget for the year 1969-70 will be approximately \$100,000. The Board voted to authorize the Finance Committee to approve the budget when it has been prepared.

Mr. Eason stated that he is not in favor of closing out the present building project until certain corrections are made and approval is secured for change orders submitted.

A list of the proposed faculty for the coming year was given to the Trustees with a request that these faculty members be appointed. The Board voted to approve the following faculty appointments:

U. Ronald Champion
James L. Hall
Thomas M. Callison
Dillard Morrow
William Hobbs
Norman Wayne Hutchins
Gary L. Shipley
James Kincaid
Steve Chrisman
Helyn Lowery
James Martin

Edward L. Barrier
Raleigh Biggerstaff
Lena Mayberry
Alice Reed
Daniel D. Mohr
John Andrew Barrett
Iva Jane Biggerstaff
Linda Bridges
Larry Edwards
E. M. Shearon
Tom Melton

William Austin Neilan Underwood

Henry Miller

A request was made by the President for educational leave with pay for the following faculty members who will have completed at least eleven consecutive quarters with North Carolina Community Colleges by the end of Spring Quarter, 1969:

U. Ronald Champion Raleigh Biggerstaff Steve Chrisman Wilbur Wright

A recommendation was also made to ask special permission from the Director of North Carolina Community Colleges for educational leave for Lena Mayberry and William Hobbs, who qualify under seven consecutive quarters provision. The Board voted to approve these requests.

The Board discussed the Athletic Program for next year. It was agreed that plans will be made to use local students and that no effort will be made to recruit students from out of state for this program. James L. Hall, Jr., a present faculty member will be in charge of the athletic program, Mr. Eason reported that Isothermal Community College might be invited to join the Western Carolina Junior College Conference.

The Board unanimously voted to offer a three-year contract to Fred J. Eason, President, whose contract will expire July 1, 1969. His local supplement is to be determined by the Finance Committee.

Requested budget transfers were unanimously approved by the Board.

Following this action, the meeting was adjourned.

Chairman

Secretary