MINUTES OF TRUSTEES' MEETING - COMMUNITY COLLEGE NOVEMBER 23, 1964

The Trustees of the local Community College held their second meeting in the office of Superintendent Forrest Hunt at 7:00 p.m., Monday, November 23, 1964. The following members were present: Paul Bridges, Ivy Cowan, Dr. W. M. Elliott, Spencer Gamble, Hollis Owens, Jr., Max Padgett, Robert Spratt, James Tanner, J. J. Tarlton, Clyde Tomblin, and Frank West. Lee Powers was in an Asheville Hospital and unable to attend.

Mr. J. J. Tarlton called the meeting to order and Mr. E. W. Tanner, Clerk of Superior Court, administered the Oath of Office to all the members who were present. The secretary read the minutes of the previous meeting, and it was moved and seconded that the minutes be approved as read. The members agreed by common consent that the names of Trustees making motions will not be recorded in the minutes. This action led to one change in the minutes of the previous meeting - with this change the Board voted to accept the minutes as read.

The chairman read a letter he had written to Mr. Lee Powers expressing regret that Mr. Powers has been ill and unable to attend the meetings, and the chairman also read the letter that Mr. Powers had written in reply.

Mr. Tarlton announced the names of the members of two committees:

- A. Presidential Selection Committee
 - 1. Robert Spratt, Chairman
 - 2. Hollis Owens, Jr.
 - 3. James Tanner
 - 4. Max Padgett

B. Budget Committee

- 1. Frank West, Chairman
- 2. Ivy Cowan
- 3. Dr. W. M. Elliott
- 4. Clyde Tomblin

The Board voted to accept the offer of office space in the National Guard Armory made by Wade Philbeck, Commander of the local National Guard Unit. The Board voted to set up an office for the Community College, and to leave the installation of a telephone to the discretion of the Presidential Selection Committee.

The Board voted that Clyde Tomblin will act as temporary treasurer of the Board, and that the Union Trust Company bank in Spindale will be the depository for funds received by the Board.

Following a discussion of the efforts being made by a group of citizens in the Oakland Community to raise money to purchase and improve the proposed site for the college, the Chairman appointed Robert Spratt,

Ivy Cowan and Clyde Tomblin to serve as a committee to investigate the work of the Oakland group and report their findings to the Board of Trustees.

The secretary was instructed to learn and record in the minutes of this meeting the terms of office of each member of the Board.

After considerable discussion the Board voted to name the college the Isothermal Community College. The Board decided to hold its next meeting on Monday, December 7^{th} , at 7:30 p.m. in Mr. Forrest Hunt's office.

Following this action, the meeting was adjourned.

Read and approved:

BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND TERM OF OFFICE

BOARD OF EDUCATION APPOINTEES:

	Term	of Office	Expiration Date
Max Padgett	1	year	June 30, 1965
Robert Spratt	3	years	June 30, 1967
Ivy Cowan	5	years	June 30, 1969
James Tanner	7	years	June 30, 1971
COUNTY COMMISSIONERS'	APPOIN	TEES:	
Clyde Tomblin	1	year	June 30, 1965
J. J. Tarlton	3	years	June 30, 1967
Dr. W. M. Elliott	5	years	June 30, 1969
Frank West	7	years	June 30, 1971
GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES:			
Lee Powers	1	year	June 30, 1965
Paul Bridges	3	years	June 30, 1967
Spencer Gamble	5	years	June 30, 1969
Hollis Owens, Jr.	7	years	June 30, 1971