Isothermal Community College

Continuing Education

Admissions Requirements

Admission Requirements for the CDL Classes

You must: Attend a mandatory orientation session before you can register and:

  • Be at least 18 years old: Student graduates under 21 years old can drive only within North Carolina.
  • Hold a valid North Carolina Driver's License with no limiting restrictions.
  • Be able to read and speak English well enough to take instructions from highway signs, to converse with officials, and complete the required reports. (FMCSR 391.11)
  • Present a high school diploma, college, or GED transcript or take and pass a Prerequisite Reading Placement Test with a minimum 8th grade reading level or better to register. Please bring an official copy of your test results with you to registration unless testing at CCC&TI in Hudson, where your grade will be in our student records. (Placement Testing Guide included in this packet)
  • Acquire a North Carolina Class A permit with no limiting restrictions before the highway-driving portion of your training or no later than hour 135 of the class. 
  • Pass a DOT physical and/or hold a valid (12 month minimum) DOT medical card: This should be completed by the 1st day of class. A current medical card is required to drive on the road.
  • Complete and Pass a DOT drug screen by the 1st day of class. Negative results are required to get onto a truck and remain in class. Download form.
  • Show proof of permanent residency: All immigrants must have proper paperwork.

Due to the strict requirements and restrictions of most trucking companies you must also have:

  • A current Motor Vehicle Record with no convictions in the past 3 years of: DUI, refusal to take a chemical test, hit and run, leaving the scene of an accident, careless and reckless driving, a preventable accident or speeding 15 mph over the limit.
  • No felony or major misdemeanor convictions in the past 5 years, based on completion of sentence.

Note: Meeting these requirements will not guarantee you a position as a driver after course completion. Each trucking company has their own list of requirements; some more strict than what’s listed above.

Orientation Session

Attend the mandatory orientation session at times listed on the attached training schedule. Orientation sessions for day classes will be held at 10:00 am. Orientation sessions for evening classes and weekend classes will be held at 5:00 pm.

Register for Class

  1. Comply with admission requirements above.
  2. Review the training schedule in this packet to decide which class is best for you. 
  3. Schedule an appointment with Chris Thompson @ 828-726-2380 or cthompson@cccti.edu
  4. Bring the official copy of the high school, college, or GED transcript or prerequisite reading placement test score with you.
  5. Register and pay for your selected class at the time of your appointment.

Registration for class is available by appointment only.

You cannot register before the orientation date shown on the training schedule. Registration appointments will be made at the orientation. Registration will continue until the class is full or until one day before the class starts.

Note: Meeting these requirements will not guarantee you a position as a driver after course completion. Each trucking company has their own list of requirements; some more strict than what’s listed above.

Class Options

We offer several different class options at CCC&TI to accommodate your busy lifestyle. 

  • Day: Monday-Friday, 8 am to 5 pm (8.5 weeks). 
  • Evening: Monday - Friday 5 pm to 10 pm (15 weeks). 
  • Weekend: Friday 5 pm to 10 pm; Saturday and Sunday 8 am to 5 pm (17 weeks) 
  • Satellite or off-campus day classes: See the enclosed schedule for more information.